FIFA World Cup: How much prize money Argentina will receive?

Argentina defeated France 4-2 in a penalty shoot-out to win the World Cup for the third time

by Tanvir Awan
Published: Updated:

The World Cup champions Argentina will earn $42 million in Prize money for their football federation.

The losing team France will get $30 million from a FIFA Prize fund of $440 million.

Argentina defeated France 4-2 in a penalty shoot-out to clinch the World Cup for the third time.

Argentinan captain Lionel Messi scored twice and French striker Kylian Mbappe scored a hat-trick as the World Cup final finished 3-3 after extra time at the Lusail Stadium in Qatar. A record 117 players scored goals in World Cup Qatar 2022.

In 2018 when France won the World Cup its federation got $38 million from FIFA’s $400 million Prize fund.

Though not all the money goes to players, but they are likely to get a good chunk of it.

France key players such as Kylian Mbappé were expected to be paid a bonus of $586,000 by France’s soccer federation if they win the final, according to French sports daily L’Equipe.

Croatia, the third-place team earned $27 million in Prize money. Morocco, who ended up in fourth, will be given $25 million.

FIFA’s total revenue for the last four years was $7.5 billion.

Who will host the 2026 FIFA World Cup?

Officials from the three host countries of the 2026 World Cup, Canada, United States and Mexico,  were present in Qatar for a handover ceremony ahead of the final match between Argentina and France . The 2026 tournament will be played in 16 cities: two in Canada, three in Mexico and 11 in the United States.

You may also like

Leave a Comment