UAE now offers visa on arrival to citizens of 87 countries

by Tanvir Awan
UAE visa on arrival countries list

If you’re planning a trip to the UAE, understanding the visa requirements is crucial. The UAE visa on arrival is available for citizens of many countries, but there are also some important details to keep in mind. Let’s break down the essentials for a smooth entry into the UAE.

Did you know that citizens of 87 countries can enter the UAE without needing a prior visa? If you’re a tourist looking to explore the UAE’s wonders, here’s what you need to know:

The UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs has a list of the following 87 UAE visa on arrival countries on its official website. You can easily access this information to check if your country is on the list.

List of UAE visa on arrival countries

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Argentina
  4. Austria
  5. Australia
  6. Azerbaijan
  7. Bahrain
  8. Barbados
  9. Brazil
  10. Belarus
  11. Belgium
  12. Brunei
  13. Bulgaria
  14. Canada
  15. Chile
  16. China
  17. Colombia
  18. Costa Rica
  19. Croatia
  20. Cyprus
  21. Czech Republic
  22. Denmark
  23. El Salvador
  24. Estonia
  25. Finland
  26. France
  27. Georgia
  28. Germany
  29. Honduras
  30. Hungary
  31. Hong Kong
  32. Special Administrative Region of China
  33. Iceland
  34. Israel
  35. Italy
  36. Japan
  37. Kazakhstan
  38. Kiribati
  39. Kuwait
  40. Latvia
  41. Liechtenstein
  42. Lithuania
  43. Luxembourg
  44. Malaysia
  45. Maldives
  46. Malta
  47. Mauritius
  48. Mexico
  49. Monaco
  50. Montenegro
  51. Nauru
  52. New Zealand
  53. Norway
  54. Oman
  55. Paraguay
  56. Peru
  57. Poland
  58. Portugal
  59. Qatar
  60. Republic of Ireland
  61. Romania
  62. Russia
  63. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  64. San Marino
  65. Saudi Arabia
  66. Seychelles
  67. Serbia
  68. Singapore
  69. Slovakia
  70. Slovenia
  71. Solomon Islands
  72. South Korea
  73. Spain
  74. Sweden
  75. Switzerland
  76. The Bahamas
  77. The Netherlands
  78. UK
  79. US
  80. Ukraine
  81. Uruguay
  82. Vatican
  83. Hellenic
  84. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  85. Armenia
  86. Fiji
  87. Kosovo

Visit the official website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and navigate to the page that provides updated information on visa exemptions and UAE visa on arrival for travellers holding ordinary passports from around the world.

UAE Visa Requirements for Other Countries

For citizens of 115 countries, a prior visa is required to enter the UAE. Be sure to understand the requirements and process beforehand:

If your country is not on the list of visa-free countries, you’ll need to apply for a visa before your trip.


Make sure to check the details on the official website of the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security.

It’s also a good idea to get in touch with your airline for additional information on visa requirements.

UAE Visa on Arrival for GCC Citizens

If you’re a citizen of a Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) country, you’re in luck:

UAE visa on arrival countries list

Museum of the Future.

You don’t need UAE visa on arrival. GCC citizens can enter the UAE without needing an entry visa or a sponsor. All you need is a passport issued by a GCC country or an ID card. Simply present this at any port of entry, and you’re good to go.

List of GCC Countries

  • Saudi Arabia
  • Kuwait
  • UAE (United Arab Emirates)
  • Qatar
  • Bahrain
  • Oman

Entry visa for certain nationalities

The UAE Digital Government (UAE DGov) has made the entry process even smoother for some nationalities:

Check out the list of nationalities that do not require prior arrangements for an entry visa. You can find this list on the official website.


If your nationality is on the list, you can get an entry visa upon arrival, valid for 30 days. This can be extended for an additional 10 days if needed.

Moreover, citizens of certain countries can obtain a visa upon arrival that’s valid for a generous 90 days.

UAE visa for Indians

If you’re a citizen of India, here’s what you need to know about entry visas:

Indian citizens holding ordinary passports with a validity of at least six months from the date of arrival, along with a visit visa or green card from the US, or a residence visa from the UK or EU countries (valid for at least six months), can obtain an entry visa upon arrival.

This visa is valid for 14 days and can be extended for another 14 days.

Understanding UAE entry permits

For some nationalities, an entry permit is required before arriving in the UAE. This depends on the purpose of your visit.

Entry permits are issued by the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs. The requirements vary based on the purpose of your visit, so make sure to check the specifics.

In conclusion, the UAE offers a range of entry options for travellers. Whether you’re from a visa-free country, a GCC citizen, or need to arrange for a visa or permit, understanding the process is key to a hassle-free visit.

FAQs about UAE Visa on Arrival

What is the official website to check UAE visa on arrival requirements?

You can visit the official website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs at for updated information on visa exemptions.

Can I extend my UAE entry visa beyond the initial duration?

Yes, in some cases, you can extend your entry visa. The UAE DGov allows extensions for certain types of visas. Check their official website for details.

Do Indian citizens with a US green card need a UAE visa in advance?

Indian citizens holding a US green card can obtain an entry visa upon arrival in the UAE, valid for 14 days and extendable.

How long is the UAE visa on arrival valid for GCC citizens?

GCC citizens can enter the UAE without a visa and stay for the duration of their visit, presenting their passport or ID card upon arrival.

Can I apply for UAE entry permit online?

Entry permits are typically arranged through sponsors and require an application process. Check with the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs for detailed information on entry permits.


You may also like

Leave a Comment